No Bad Day, Thank You

Pic by rkleine (license: CC BY-NC 2.0)

Pic by rkleine (license: CC BY-NC 2.0)

I had a really bad day a couple of days ago. I woke up late. I went to the office without proper preparation. I opened the e-mail and got a very frustrating Quest from my boss. I was overly sensitive towards almost everything. My team was not doing their job properly. Another team we work with kept nagging me with a server bug that had been around for months. Right before lunch-time, I hid in the empty Musholla (a small room fellow Moslems use to pray) and cried.

It was a dreadful 4 hours.

At 12:00 PM a co-worker, a Christian, offers me to join his gathering. No idea what it was. We basically gathered in War Room (the meeting room) and sang praises to the Lord. I was overwhelmed by emotions, so I just sat in the corner and watched them.

After a couple of songs, they prayed. I sat still.

They then, one by one, shared what had happened that day. We called it ‘Short Wifle (=What I Feel Like to Express).’ But there was additional rule: The WIFLE’s theme was gratitude. What was it that we were grateful for that day?

I got the last turn, so–fortunately–I had quite some time to think. Hmm… What was I grateful for?

Well, I woke up late, true. But I woke up with all eyes, arms and legs intact. That was good.

I could safely cross the big street right before I reached the office. Trust me, that street is a danger zone! Pedestrians crossing that street = suicidal. So, me, crossing it safe and sound, was good.

And then I remembered the e-mail. Okay, that was frustrating. “I put a lot of efforts in that particular Quest, and now he (my boss) asked me to change it? In the last minute? Is he insane?!”

My wandering mind is interrupted by a co-worker. “I am grateful because I can smile.”

What did he say? Smile?

Smile?!

Seriously?!

Smiling. Simple move. Magical effect.

I tried to open my lips. I stretched them towards my ears. Wow! It was so simple, yet I suddenly became calm.

I continued to remember, what else I could be grateful for that day. And then it hit me!

“Hey, I have a job. And it is fun!”

How dare I thought it was a bad day?! IT WAS NOT!

Moral of the Story

Smiling is easy. Happiness is free. Gratitude is the key.

One thought on “No Bad Day, Thank You

Care to share your amazing thought?

