Learn to Write by Writing

Let’s write! – Pic by Pascal Maramis

You might have read countless writing tips from books and the internet. Even if you memorize them all, those techniques will be useless if you never do this particular one technique. It is actually the most important technique in learning to write.

It is… writing.

I am 100% serious.

“Start by writing one sentence.”

Every time someone asks me, “How to write? I want to be able to write like you. I read this book and that book, but still, I can’t write!” I ask him/her back, “What have you written?” If the answer is, “Nothing,” that is it. It is obvious that you do not want to have the skill. How can I teach you anything you do not want to have?

Remember Your First Bicycle Ride?

It was not magical at all, was it? You tried to keep the balance. You learned to improve eyes-hands-feet coordination. You might have fallen many times. Somehow eventually you improved. Sure, there are braking technique, properly adjusted seat and your dad to help you out, but in the end, your courage to practice regularly is the one that really made you be able to ride a bike.

Writing works the same way. It is not a talent gifted to some special individuals. It is a skill everyone can learn and master.

You Can Write Almost Everywhere

Writing costs you almost nothing. Really.

You can write on a notebook. You can write on a cute little diary. You can even write on the wall; I actually did it when I was 3 years old.

On the internet you can practice writing through:

  • Blogging
  • Commenting on blogs, video blogs (including YouTube), etc.
  • Micro-blogging on Twitter, Facebook and other social networks
  • Posting on your favorite forums

Learn to write by writing! You cannot write without writing!

Start now. Start small. Start by writing one sentence. Just one frikking sentence. Now!

Disclaimer: This post is written for my best friend who personally asked me to teach her about writing. I am not a professional writing coach, never got myself into a formal writing class, and never intend to magically turn you into the next J.K. Rowling.

9 thoughts on “Learn to Write by Writing

  1. You have some good ideas about writing. I would also include reading other people’s works will make you a better writer. When a writer comes across a well written piece, they tend to pay attention to key elements and in turn, write better.

    • Hi, Debbie. Thanks for stopping by.😀

      I agree with you, reading well-written materials helps us recognize how to write a good piece of article, news, book or copy. Reading badly-written materials promises some benefits, too. We can avoid what to NOT write from finding other people’s mistakes, but that is kind of a more-advanced writing technique as it requires a little bit of editing skill.

      I am currently preparing several more posts about basic writing tips for those who have actually written almost nothing, to encourage them to write more. Afterwards I will focus on the benefits of reading habit. I would love to hear from you more about this.😀

    • Hi, Pam.

      Reading is not procrastination. Good writers need to read more than they write. However, if you are not compelled to write after you read good-written material covering a topic you are deeply interested into, that might be procrastination. And procrastination roots in fear. Just ask yourself, why do you fear to write? After you answer it honestly, break the fear using its opposite: the COURAGE (to write).😀

  2. Nice thought. I, too, often met people who’re bad at writing and said that they want to improve, but had not the drive to write more often.
    I used to write diaries. I had been doing so for about… seven or eight years. I’m glad I did that.

Care to share your amazing thought?

