What a Good Twitter Name Means

twitter-heydian

I joined Twitter 9 months ago. Twitter on Day 1 confused me. I didn’t know how to read time line, I didn’t know what (or even where!) the buttons are for: RT, reply, update, etc.

So I have learned Twitter from the scratch. After understanding its basic functions, I’ve tried countless Twitter clients, including those available only in smartphones (I borrowed my friends’ only to get a taste on Twitter clients, LOL).

I’ve grown so big of a love for Twitter. Kinda addicted to it, I guess. But then…

I realized my Twitter name, @dianarakeren, was a really bad one. For 3 reasons I despised it:

1. It’s not memorable
2. It’s too damn long
3. It’s not easy to pronounce in both Bahasa Indonesia and English

Now, lemme explain to you why a long Twitter name is bad.

Here’s the illustration. Let’s say I tweet this one:

I tweet this really superb cool tweet so pleaseee RT it to your friends if you like it, or don’t if you don’t like it, but I suggest you do. — 140 characters

It shows up on your time line:

@dianarakeren I tweet this really superb cool tweet so pleaseee RT it to your friends if you like it, or don’t if you don’t like it, but I suggest you do. — 154 characters

If you wanna RT it, you’re gonna need a longer character limit.

@friend RT @dianarakeren I tweet this really superb cool tweet so pleaseee RT it to your friends if you like it, or don’t if you don’t like it, but I suggest you do. — 164 characters

And if you wanna put your personalized comment in front of it, you’ll need even a longer one.

@friend +1 RT @dianarakeren I tweet this really superb cool tweet so pleaseee RT it to your friends if you like it, or don’t if you don’t like it, but I suggest you do. — 167 characters

If your friend likes it as well and decides to retweet it, here’s it gonna be.

@anotherfriend RT @friend +1 RT @dianarakeren I tweet this really superb cool tweet so pleaseee RT it to your friends if you like it, or don’t if you don’t like it, but I suggest you do. — 186 characters

See? It means if I want MY FOLLOWERS and THEIR FOLLOWERS to retweet my cool tweet, I’m gonna have to tweet in less than 100 characters. Or they can’t.

Today Twitter provides this really cool button called Retweet. It surpasses the 140 character limit. Any tweet 140-character long is RT-able. But it has a limitation: You can’t edit the tweet. The only option you have to edit the tweet is using the old-school RT button provided by most Twitter clients (not available on the web). But then… Yep, there you go, 140-character limitation. *GRRR*

And so I changed my Twitter name. To @oDian. Which was indeed so cool, I no longer gotta think too long before hitting the Send button (I’ve been using TweetDeck, btw).

It didn’t seem to be a problem till a friend told me, “Hey, in #bahasaku campaign which you initiated I can’t find your tweet. At all.”

Turns out oDian is a generic term in Spanish (meaning ‘hate’), and another friend who codes said it could be a term filtered by Twitter. That was why I couldn’t be found in any hashtag I tweeted. FRAK.

Was it a problem, Dian?

You bet it was! I couldn’t join any Twitter quiz, I couldn’t have fun with my friends in exciting hashtag, I couldn’t have my personal account retweeted tweets coming from my clients’ accounts. But worst of all, I couldn’t track the conversations between me and my friends; every time I clicked “in reply to,” their tweets appeared but my tweets didn’t.

And so I changed it once again. To @heyDian.

It was a painful journey, seeking a new name in Twitter. But I gotta do it anyway. For a good Twitter name should be:
1. Really short.
2. Memorable, which means it should be…
3. Easy to pronounce in both Bahasa Indonesia and English
4. Having no number nor special character attached; a name such as @Marco35 will be harder to type using a mobile device
5. Having my name attached, although a full name isn’t really required; seriously, @iJulia would be so much better than @JuliaStockholm.
6. (most painful point) Available.
7. (lesson learned, people!) Tested through various hashtag during not-so-busy-Twitter-hour before announced to public. LOL.

I actually really wanted to go for @ev, but shoot, it’s taken. So @heyDian it is. #evillaugh

Anyway, if you think I’d changed my Twitter name without any logical reason, think again. It’s hard to find a good Twitter name, and it’s even harder to broadcast the new brand (I gotta replace every e-mail signature, every forum signature, every printed business card, etc.), why on earth would I do such thing without putting enough logical thoughts into it?

The answer to that, my friends, is one and only one thing:

I know how to brand myself better in Twitterverse. Do you? #wakakakakakkk

*note*
Here are several Twitter names I find really good, and they ARE respected tweeps in Twitterverse.

@kapkap @aulia @deon @budi @pinot @pipis @motemo @richoz @ditut @FaDompas @sensible @bellamy @arisaja @anima @unwinged @ibnutri @didut @pakzam @lurino @dtoid
The list might be longer later as now those are I remember most.

Hey, you might also wanna read…

How Can I Help You, Twitter?
Harnessing the Power of Twitter Text

43 thoughts on “What a Good Twitter Name Means

  1. Oww… now i know the reason why Ms.Dian’s changed her twitter username.

    I got the good point on this article : “Anyway, if you think I’d changed my Twitter name without any logical reason, think again. It’s hard to find a good Twitter name, and it’s even harder to broadcast the new brand (I gotta replace every e-mail signature, every forum signature, every printed business card, etc.), why on earth would I do such thing without putting enough logical thoughts into it?”

    Since i know Ms.Dian’s changed her Twitter username into @heyDian, i’m just mentioning her : “Daaan, kak @heyDian ganti username yang ke 3 kalinya XD” that’s just joke, not satire🙂 and all off Twitter user known, that i think that’s joke, partly of user judge me that’s satire T_T *sigh*

    This article was so good! maybe this article is the first time describe why every twitter user must create or changed their usernam into 2-7 character😄. And sure the consequence is you must change everything like describe on above.

    Good article, make this article standard before joining Twitter! Patent it!😀

  2. wonder why lot of people complaining when I change my twitter name from @bocahmiring to @ihik, I must change it back to @bocahmiring. Think @ihik is shorter, easy to remember etc etc, but why they complain? Any idea? #keminggris

  3. Yang @arisaja agak tricky😄 Dulu selalu ngira nama dia itu ‘Aris’. “Aris’ aja. Sampe dia bilang “anuuu, nama saya ‘Ari’…”😄

    *aihjadicurcolabiskangensihyagapapalahya*

    Akhirnya ngerti juga kenapa nama @oDian ga nongol di Twitter Search. Jadi @heyDian😀 “Marilah kemari hey hey hey heeey~”😀

    • And my current name is indeed a cool way to flirt! YAY! *eh?*

      Btw, about Ari’s name…

      illustration #1
      “Dude, really? Is your name Aris?”
      “It’s Ari the Smasher. Aris for short.”

      illustration #2
      “Dude, seriously, what’s your name?”
      “Ari. S is sexy.”

      *kayanya Mas Ari idungnya senut-senut deh dirasanin di sini, LOL!

    • Well, @pakzam is short, easy to pronounce (but you’re gonna find it harder at first times introducing it to English native clients, or you’re gonna bear the different pronunciation ‘pekzem,’ hihihi…) and it’s in fact really memorable.😄

      But what I like most ’bout your name? You put 2 elements there: Zam is your name, Pak is Indonesian article (=kata sandang). That’s cool, having Bahasa Indonesia as part of your branding while freelancing, hohoho…

      Oh, such a name is hard to find, Mas. I’d never changed it if I were you.

  4. “gunakan satu nama untuk semua medium!” biarpun “it’s too damn long”
    imo, pilihan yang sulit, tapi di situlah tantangannya.
    gue bukan orang terkenal, jd perlu usaha dikit untuk bikin branding, “valentmustamin@anywhere” :p
    kalo urusan tweet gue bisa diretweet atau ga, karena kepanjangan,
    yahh kalo contentnya bagus, pasti dia bakal usahalah.
    shrink bisa, new retweet bisa, quote bisa …
    kalo masih mentok juga, yah ga usah aja sekalian diretweet hahaha

    • Iya sih, Om. 1 nama buat semua emang lebih oke.

      Cuma kalo gw mikirnya: 1) Personal branding dan corporate branding gak harus pake nama sama, gw tetep punya akun @dianaraquest, tapi untuk personal gw pilih yg pendek karena… 2) Ya itu, kasian sama follower yang pengen RT tapi kesulitan, hahaha…

      Ya berpulang lagi ke masing2 orang sih, Om. Kan gw gak maksa.

      Btw, @valentmustamin mah jauh lebih ngetop ketimbang @heyDian. Beda laaah sama Bapak WordPress Indonesia. #kaburkabuuurrr

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention What a Good Twitter Name Means « Dian Ara's Quest -- Topsy.com

  6. Setuju sama sampeyan Mbak Dian dari sisi perlunya nama twitter yg praktis, tapi balik lagi setiap orang punya cara yg berbeda dlm mengaplikasikan personal brandingnya (just saying).

    Gw pribadi juga sering gonta-ganti nama twitter dari @halomomo ke @monikahalim sampe sekarang jadi @monceu, 2 nama yg sebelumnya sepenuhnya personal branding tapi yg @monceu cuma buat have fun karna lagi bosen😛 Klo soal kepanjangan lha wong yang lain yang dipinginin sudah kepantek semua😄 mau gimana lagi? mau ngga mau harus nrimo & berusaha mengakali saja😀

    *jie blog-nya keren*
    *ihiy*

    • Ho oh, Mo. Emang strategi orang beda-beda. Kaya yang disebut Om Valent itu, ada benernya juga pan. 1 nama untuk semua juga lebih baek.

      *ihiy blognya dipuji Momo* *nyungsep*

  7. hmm kenapa gak @hiDian? atau @_Dian ? kan lebih simple lagi tuh hehehe.

    Soal ID twitter gue, untungnya gue udah keduluan ngembat id @aprian ini. Ternyata banyak jg orang yg punya panggilan aprian. Walhasil suka sering dapet mention yg nyasar karena followernya cuma mention pake @aprian , pdhl ID aslinya itu @aprianxxx atau @aprianSomething …😀

    • @hiDian bakal dibaca “hi” seperti dlm “hitam” oleh lidah Indo. Padahal gw sama sekali tidak hitam!

      Tanda “_” ya bakal bikin ribet ketika gw memperkenalkan akun twitter secara lisan pas kopdar. “Saya underscore dian.” Haish.

      Btw, Pri, pernah ada gak yang nyasar kira elo @aprianlusk? #ngelesot

  8. Wahh.. gw gak pernah update twitter. twitter gw rame karen agw link dari Plurk gw. Semacem twitter tapi ada emoticonnya gitu. hHe..
    tapi boleh juga kalo mau follow : BOOMbasticOniy

Care to share your amazing thought?

