Thought of Death Helps to Live Life to the Fullest

joy

Buddha said, we are what we think. Implemented to the pursuit of happiness, the wisdom is so true. Every situation in life can be optionally perceived in 2 perspectives: whether I accept it and learn to grow better, or I defensively deny it and put myself into the endless misery of pain.

I’ve come to a realization that I can’t control any life situation. I can’t tell any company owner not to reject my application. I can’t tell my bestfriends not to be mad at me after I disappointed them. I can’t tell my boyfriend not to be so distant after I hurt him. I can’t even tell the rain not to pour, LOL.

But I definitely can control how I react to any life situation.

I can keep going mad, but that’s pain. I can keep feeling sad, but what’s the point? I prefer accepting the unwanted feelings, accepting that I, as anyone else, am human with flaws. And then I can laugh sincerely at every life situation and everyone’s responses towards my past actions.

Buddha also said, sufferings are caused by craving and clinging. Suffering arises when I expect others to conform to my expectations, when I want others to like me, when I do not get something I really want, when I envy others’ possessions and achievements. Even if I get all those, I won’t be happy for I’ll definitely want more. And more. And more…

The truth is, death is the only thing that truly matters now.

No, seriously. Humiliation, fear, anger, frustration, feeling of failure, all those unwanted emotions do in fact not important. I might die tomorrow, and if what I have left is another 24 hours, I won’t spend it crying and regretting. I’ll laugh to the max!

Steve Jobs said the right thing about this:

No one wants to die. Even people who want to go to heaven don’t want to die to get there. And yet death is the destination we all share. No one has ever escaped it. And that is as it should be, because Death is very likely the single best invention of Life. It is Life’s change agent. It clears out the old to make way for the new.

It doesn’t mean that I stop chasing my dreams. It doesn’t mean that I won’t long for love. Doesn’t necessarily mean that I choose to be ignorant towards others’ feelings and needs. And you definitely get the wrong idea if you think I’ll stop giving the best out of me in everything I do.

I just… well, choose to be happy in this one-time journey called life. By not dwelling in the past, by not worrying about the future. I choose to focus myself on the Now, do the best I can, keep seeking my passion, learn to grow every single day, whatever life provides me.

Que sera sera. Let’s laugh. Let’s live. Let’s have fun in life.

Btw, check this video of Steve Jobs’ 2005 speech at Stanford University graduation. And here’s the script. You’ll see that whatever I and you are currently going through, what he’d been dealing with was much worse.

Let the Force of Now be with me. And with y’all.

2 thoughts on “Thought of Death Helps to Live Life to the Fullest

Care to share your amazing thought?

